Going to School After Homeschooling
What should be done if you were home educating but you want (or need) to send your child to school?
Legally, you have to send the school district a Letter of Termination to tell them officially that you are done homeschooling your child. This should be sent within 30 days of finishing your homeschooling.
If you plan to put your child in a school in the fall but finish out this year homeschooling,
Figuring out how to grant high school credits seems daunting to some homeschool parents, but it’s not as difficult as many imagine. There are several different options for figuring out credits. Parents can mix-and-match them, using one method for one class and another method for another class. Or pick a favorite and stick with it.
High School Transcripts
A high school transcript is a brief one-page (or at most two-page) summary of a high school student's education. A transcript may be used as proof of a student's educational record for admission to a school or college. Some potential employers will ask to see a high school transcript--I was asked to show my high school transcript to an employer even though I'd graduated college more than a decade earlier and had graduate school credits, too. So, while parents are not required by Florida law to prepare a transcript for their high school student, wise parents will make sure their children have a high school transcript.
Parents who create a set of course descriptions will be able to take the information needed for the transcripts directly from the course descriptions they've written.
Q: I'm putting my child in school in January. We haven't homeschooled her for a year yet. Since it's been less than a year do I need to turn in an evaluation?
A: Per Florida law, an evaluation is due once a year (by the anniversary of your letter of intent) OR within 30 days of sending in a Letter of Termination to tell the school district that you are done home educating your child.